Hidden Valley Road : inside the mind of an American family / Robert Kolker.

By: Kolker, Robert [author.]
Material type: TextTextPublisher: London : Quercus, 2020Copyright date: ©2020Description: xxi, 377 pages : illustrations, portraits ; 25 cmContent type: text | still image | text Media type: unmediated Carrier type: volumeISBN: 9781787473805; 9781787473812Subject(s): Galvin family | Schizophrenia -- Etiology | Schizophrenia -- Genetic aspects | Schizophrenics -- United States -- Biography | Schizophrenia -- Treatment -- United States -- History | Schizophrenics -- Family relationships -- United States | Mentally ill -- Care -- United States -- HistoryDDC classification: 616.898071 Summary: 12 children. 6 of them diagnosed with schizophrenia. Science’s greatest hope in understanding the disease. Don and Mimi Galvin seemed to be living the American dream. After World War II, Don’s work with the Air Force brought them to Colorado, where their twelve children perfectly spanned the baby boom: the oldest born in 1945, the youngest in 1965. In those years, there was an established script for a family like the Galvins – aspiration, hard work, upward mobility, domestic harmony – and they worked hard to play their parts. But behind the scenes was a different story: psychological breakdown, sudden shocking violence, hidden abuse. By the mid-1970s, six of the ten Galvin boys, one after the other, were diagnosed as schizophrenic. How could all this happen to one family? What took place inside the house on Hidden Valley Road was so extraordinary that the Galvins became one of the first families to be studied by the National Institutes of Mental Health. Their story offers a shadow history of the science of schizophrenia, from the era of institutionalization, lobotomy, and the schizophrenogenic mother, to the search for genetic markers for the disease, always amidst profound disagreements about the nature of the illness itself. And unbeknownst to the Galvins, samples of their DNA informed decades of genetic research that continues today, offering paths to treatment, prediction, and even eradication of the disease for future generations. With clarity and compassion, bestselling and award-winning author Robert Kolker uncovers one family’s unforgettable legacy of suffering, love and hope. For fans of Educated, The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks and Three Identical Strangers.
List(s) this item appears in: Read like Obama
Tags from this library: No tags from this library for this title. Log in to add tags.
    Average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Current location Collection Call number Status Date due Barcode Item holds
Non Fiction Hāwera LibraryPlus
Non Fiction
Non Fiction 616.898 (Browse shelf) Available I2206551
Total holds: 0

Includes bibliographical references and index.

12 children. 6 of them diagnosed with schizophrenia. Science’s greatest hope in understanding the disease. Don and Mimi Galvin seemed to be living the American dream. After World War II, Don’s work with the Air Force brought them to Colorado, where their twelve children perfectly spanned the baby boom: the oldest born in 1945, the youngest in 1965. In those years, there was an established script for a family like the Galvins – aspiration, hard work, upward mobility, domestic harmony – and they worked hard to play their parts. But behind the scenes was a different story: psychological breakdown, sudden shocking violence, hidden abuse. By the mid-1970s, six of the ten Galvin boys, one after the other, were diagnosed as schizophrenic. How could all this happen to one family? What took place inside the house on Hidden Valley Road was so extraordinary that the Galvins became one of the first families to be studied by the National Institutes of Mental Health. Their story offers a shadow history of the science of schizophrenia, from the era of institutionalization, lobotomy, and the schizophrenogenic mother, to the search for genetic markers for the disease, always amidst profound disagreements about the nature of the illness itself. And unbeknownst to the Galvins, samples of their DNA informed decades of genetic research that continues today, offering paths to treatment, prediction, and even eradication of the disease for future generations. With clarity and compassion, bestselling and award-winning author Robert Kolker uncovers one family’s unforgettable legacy of suffering, love and hope. For fans of Educated, The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks and Three Identical Strangers.

There are no comments on this title.

to post a comment.

©South Taranaki District Council

Contact us