Recent comments

Keith H. Anderson's Taranaki : celebrating the life and art of a mountain man / by Anderson, Berta,

Publication: Stratford, N.Z. : B. Anderson, 2004 . 134 p. : 22 x 29 cm. Date: 2004

What a wonderful book telling some of Keith Anderson's story, but also amazing reference of his oil paintings of and around the Mountain and other places of meaning to him. Absolutely loved finding this book and enjoying the stories it tells. Jenni Corbett

Added 29/05/2017 by Jennifer

Never say die / by Gerritsen, Tess,

Publication: . 285 pages ; 23 cm.

This book isn't quite as bad as the cover suggests, but getting close. Added 15/05/2017 by Kath

To the sea / by Dibley, Christine,

Publication: . 451 pages ; 24 cm

I found this to be a mystical story mixed with ordinaryness of solving a missing person case. The usual cast of characters the missing persons family and friends, and the detective and his team. But the story drew me in and I became engrossed wondering just what had happened to the missing girl. The Detective is drawn in too and becomes more involved with the family and the stories they tell. I have to say i did not expect the ending. which really surprised me. Added 28/03/2017 by Lynne

Jean harley was here / by Johnson, Heather Taylor,

Publication: . 242 pages ; 23 cm.

The cover says this is a book to "savour" and I agree. It is delicately written and poetically it delves into the minds of each character left behind, their memories of Jean and the turns their lives take after her death. The effect of their memories of Jean changes the ways some of them live their lives and even affects the person who accidentally ran her over. I am happy to recommend this novel. Added 28/03/2017 by Lynne

The bear and the nightingale / by Arden, Katherine,

Publication: . 324 pages ; 23 cm.

I found this book enthralling, the descriptions of Russian life and the bleak conditions of life lived so far away from the comfort of cities. It's an old story reselling folk tales and spirits and demons in the night . The heroine is a wild young girl who grows strong and desires to save her people even though the priest has turned them against her. A very good read. Added 19/03/2017 by Lynne

The satanic mechanic / by Andrew, Sally,

Publication: . 312 pages ; 24 cm

The second in what I hope will be a long series by this author I was as enthralled by this mystery crime novel and the characters in it as I was by the first book. Tannie Maria is still dealing with her issues from an abusive marriage. Her fellow crime investigators Jess and Policeman boyfriend Henk are further developed in this story. And of course all through the story there is food glorious food which helps each different situation. I almost put on weight just reading it. Another spellbinding story can't wait for the next one. Lynne Added 29/01/2017 by Lynne

The things you do for love / by Crowther, Rachel,

Publication: . 440 pages ; 20 cm.

A good yarn about family dynamics. I enjoyed it and would describe it as a good holiday read. Will look for more by this author. Lynne Added 18/01/2017 by Lynne

Recipes for love and murder / by Andrew, Sally,

Publication: Melbourne : | Scoresby : Text Publishing Company ; | Penguin Books Australia [Distributor] . 378 pages ; 24 cm

What a find! A new voice in mystery novels oh I do hope Sally Andrews writes more stories about Tannie Maria. The review is great and says it all. The recipes kept me wanting to taste the flavours the Tannie Maria talked about. my only wish was that there was a Glossary of the Afrikaans words and their English meanings as i had to try and guess what they were. More please :) Lynne Added 18/01/2017 by Lynne

Whirlwind / by Mofina, Rick.

Publication: North Sydney, N.S.W. : Harlequin MIRA, 2014 . 392 p. ; 17 cm. Date: 2014

What I enjoy about Rick Mofina's books is how he writes from everyone's perspective, no matter how minor the role. 'Whirlwind' helps you understand how everyone is affected by the disappearance of Jenna Cooper's baby. Added 17/01/2017 by Bee

Touch / by North, Claire,

Publication: . 427 pages ; 24 cm.

Imagine if you can inhabit any body, become anybody, just by touching them... would it be a life worth living? Would there be consequences? Read this book and find out! Fantastic imagination from Claire North and her style of writing is 'literary' amazing! Added 17/01/2017 by Bee

Gardenista / by Slatalla, Michelle,

Publication: . 108 pages : 25 cm

This was a refreshing new look at garden landscapes and wonderful gardens. I would recommend this book to any gardening friends as a great ideas book and coffee table volume which you want to keep picking up to look at. Many are American gardens which we don't usually see. Thanks for purchasing this for the collection. Added 19/12/2016 by Lynne

Days of blood and starlight / by Taylor, Laini,

Publication: London : Hodder & Stoughton, 2012 . 517 p. : 24 cm. Date: 2012

A Romeo and Juliet story with magic and beasts! Added 14/12/2016 by Bee

Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children / Ages 14+ by Riggs, Ransom,

Publication: Philadelphia, Penn. : Quirk Books, 2011 . 352 p. : 21 cm. Date: 2011

This is a remarkable story and not just for YA! Added 15/11/2016 by Kath

The Norfolk mystery / Adult. by Sansom, Ian,

Publication: Oxford : Isis, 2014 . 325 p. (large print) ; 24 cm. Date: 2014

Unless you speak Latin, this is a very tedious story. Added 09/09/2016 by Kath

The stargazer's sister : a novel / by Brown, Carrie,

Publication: . x, 332 pages ; 22 cm.

This is a novel based on the true story of Carol Herschel the sister of William Herschel astronomer Royal to the King during the 1800s . Carol became an astronomer in her own right and this story informs us of what her life was probably like. I found it engrossing. Superbly written, the descriptions of her surroundings and tenor of life drew you into her world. A brother whose passion for the heavens was so consuming that he had no idea of what he was asking if his sister. They would be up most of the night he watching the stars Carol taking notes of all he saw. Then she ran the household which included men working in a factory making telescopes. This is a book I have recommended to my book club and several friends. Added 25/04/2016 by Lynne

An unholy whiff of death / by Cato, Joyce,

Publication: . 223 pages ; 25 cm.

A nice English mystery, enjoyed the story good to have an unlikely detective in the person of the vicars wife. Happily read more of this author Added 25/04/2016 by Lynne

Walking on ice / by Stevens, Emma,

Publication: . 227 pages ; 21 cm.

This was an interesting insight into life in Alaska and the education system. It was a little disjointed at times as it moved backwards and forward in time but a nice story of finding love in a digital world.

Added 25/04/2016 by Lynne

First response / by Leather, Stephen,

Publication: . 377 pages ; 24 cm.

A first class page-turner with a satisfying ending. Added 10/04/2016 by Kath

Inside the O'Briens / by Genova, Lisa,

Publication: . 339 pages ; 24 cm.

This novel is an extraordinary look into the lives of a family whose father discovers he has Huntingtons disease . It is a horrific disease with no cure and it is a disease carried in the genes from family member to family member. What would you do if you were diagnosed with this as the main character Joe is? Then the terrible task of telling his children. This book does not wallow unnecessarily but shine a light on the disease and what happens to the person who has it. It also follows one daughter in particular Kate and her struggle to come to terms with it. Do read it we all need to know more about Huntingtons.

Added 28/10/2015 by Lynne

The critic / by May, Peter,

Publication: . 388 pages ; 20 cm.

An excellent plot but a bit tiring to read with all the French phrases. Added 20/10/2015 by Kath

©South Taranaki District Council

Contact us